Newest Members
Eggshells, Mk89, Mishima, B5b5b5, Can_I_Do_This
13414 Registered Users
Today's Birthdays
CFO Dave (52), Knowhere (39), Mr Toots (52), Red Star Badge (39), six string samurai (32)
Who's Online
4 registered (physicsfriend, 3 invisible), 33 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
13,414 Registered Members
75 Forums
69,451 Topics
484,347 Posts

Most users ever online: 418 @ 07/02/12 07:29 AM
Twitter
Topic Options
#405928 - 08/05/12 08:07 PM Cycle of Abuse
thrifty Offline

Hello,

I am a professional who is currently working with a male survivor who has expressed concern with continuing the cycle of abuse. He also recently hinted at having inappropriate thoughts, but knows that he will not act on those thoughts.

I'm just looking for information I can share with him on the cycle of abuse, how to prevent it, things like that.

Thank you all!

#405930 - 08/05/12 08:11 PM Re: Cycle of Abuse [Re: thrifty]
Vadrian Offline

Loc: Pacific
Beverly Engel's book 'Breaking The Cycle Of Abuse' could help both of you.

#405939 - 08/05/12 09:41 PM Re: Cycle of Abuse [Re: thrifty]
Mountainous Buck Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: Minnesota
There are a TON of resources here to understand and help abuse males recover and reclaim their lives.

For me, The trauma theory has helped light the way to recovery and understanding how much of my life and sexuality were affected by the abuse.
That and he 12 steps have been foundational to my life today.

�It doesn't matter where you've come from,
It matters where you go" Frank Turner

#405963 - 08/06/12 03:21 AM Re: Cycle of Abuse [Re: thrifty]
Publius Offline
MaleSurvivor

Loc: OH